Award Recipients

Recognized Young Dietitian of the Year: Whitney Jerman, MS, RD, LN

Whitney is a Registered Dietitian and Health and Wellness Program Manager for Midwest Dairy Council where she supports programs like Fuel Up to Play 60 in schools and serves as a liaison to health professionals in South Dakota. She is also a spokesperson for Midwest Dairy Council conducting television, print and radio interviews.
Whitney earned a bachelor’s degree in nutrition and food science with a specialization in dietetics from South Dakota State University in Brookings, SD. She completed her dietetic internship at the University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics and earned a Master of Science Degree in Dietetics from SDSU. She is a member of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics and serves as an active board member for the South Dakota Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

Prior to joining Midwest Dairy Council, Whitney worked as a clinical dietitian in the hospital setting providing both inpatient and outpatient nutrition services as well as serving as a community resource with regular nutrition focused presentations for a variety of audiences.

Outstanding Dietitian of the Year: April Sorenson, RD, LN

April Sorensen grew up in Eureka, SD and obtained her B.S. in Dietetics and Food and Nutrition at Minnesota State University, Mankato. She completed her Dietetics internship in 2008 through Iowa State University with her clinical rotations taking place at St. Mary’s Hospital in Pierre. She is currently employed full-time at Faulkton Area Medical Center where she fills the roles of Dietitian, Wellness/Education Coordinator. Sorensen also owns and operates Nutrition & Fitness Solutions, LLC, a dietetic consulting business in which she and one employee consult for 3 LTC facilities and 2 Critical Access Hospitals. Sorensen is a certified Group Exercise Instructor, Personal Trainer, Pilates Instructor, Lifeguard, Water Safety Instructor, American Heart Association CPR and First Aid Instructor and American Cancer Society Smoking Cessation Counselor. She keeps busy teaching an average of 12 classes per week. Sorensen is a Dietetic Preceptor for both the Iowa State and South Dakota State University Dietetics Internship. To date, she has worked with over 25 undergrad and graduate students. Sorensen is also currently employed as the Faulkton Area Out of School Program Director/Instructor, to which she previously served as a member of the steering committee and the Vice President of Board of Directors. The Faulkton Area Out of School Program is a licensed Out of School Program through the SD Department of Social Services. It provides an all-day recreation program in the summer and an afterschool program for school age children during the school year. In the summer, Sorensen also takes on the responsibilities of managing the Faulkton Swimming Pool and activity teaches water aerobics and Red Cross swimming lessons. Locally, Sorensen has served on the Faulk County Preschool Board of Directors and currently serves on the Faulkton Development Corporation Quality of Life Committee. She is actively involved in her church where she taught Sunday school for seven years. Sorensen also takes an active role in the Faulkton Area Arts Council where she has served as an actress in the local Murder Mystery Dinner Theater since 2011. She has just finished a three year term on the Susan G. Komen South Dakota Affiliate Board of Directors and has been Treasurer of the SD Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics since 2013. Prior to her nutrition career, she was employed for 5 years as a Program Director at the Lake Crystal Area Recreation Center in Lake Crystal MN, in which she had the pleasure of working with various age groups and ability levels. Sorensen is happily married with four children ranging in age from 6 – 14 years.

Emerging Dietetic Leader: Lisa Stark, RD, LN, CDE, CNSE

Lisa Stark is a Clinical Dietitian for Sanford Health USD Medical Center in Sioux Falls, SD. She covers primarily the critical care units as well as medical surgery and reliefs in most all areas as needed. She enjoys being involved and is a member of the employee wellness committee and recognition committee for the hospital. Lisa is currently the SDAND President which has been a very fulfilling experience because of the networking and leadership skills gained from working with the Board of Directors and membership.

Lisa earned a bachelor’s degree in dietetics from Minnesota State University in Mankato, MN. She completed her dietetic internship at University of Minnesota Fairview in Minneapolis, MN. Lisa is a Certified Diabetes Educator (CDE) as well as a Certified Nutrition Support Clinician (CNSC).

Lisa is married and has 3 young girls (ages 5, 3 and 9 months).


Recognized Young Dietitian of the Year

1974    Kathryn Stverak
1975    Kristin Biskeborn
1976    Linda Williams
1977    Melita Wilber
1978    Carol Pitts
1979    Catherine Kelsch
1980    Ruth Ronge
1981    Carla Scott
1982    Sharon Johnson
1983    Suzanne Propst
1984    Marcia Saas
1985    Janice Mitchell
1986    Michelle Redlinger
1987    Mary Dressing
1988    Donna Young
1989    Joyce Thveddt
1990    Carla McFarland
1991    Susan Davies
1992    Dee Peterson
1993    Ginger coppock
1994    Janie Albers
1995    Denise Erger
1996    Melody Schrank
1997    Helen Nichols
1998    Kippe conti
1999    Leanne Kramer
2000    Cathy birch-Diecs
2001    Melissa Fletcher, Kelly Messner, Nicole Reuwsaat
2002    Laura Paterson
2003    Cindy Matthes
2004    Nancy Miller
2006    Danielle Miller
2007    Ashley Cariveau
2008    Nikki VerSteeg
2009    Katy VanderWal
2010    Suzanne Stluka
2011    Tracy Wright
2012    Jason Kingsbury
2014    Mariah Weber
2015    Lacey McCormack
2016    Whitney Jerman

SD Outstanding Dietitian of the Year

1976    Sister M. Alma Staundenraus
1977    Irma Natvig
1978    Rosemary Scarborough
1979    Joyce Cheeseman
1980    Elinor Pearson
1981    Sister Thecla Holzbauer
1982    Sister Antonia Dunn
1983    Alice Lange
1984    Kristin Biskeborn, Ruth Seyfer
1985    Sister Inez Welchert, Beyrl Ritz
1986    Sister Antionette Tramp
1987    Melita Wilber
1989    Georgia Larson, Deb Brakke
1990    Loyanne Heibult, Carla Scott
1991    Joy Mammenga
1992    Karen Klinkner
1993    Janice Overby
1994    Cecilia Rokusek
1995    Sharon K. Johnson
1996    Sue Davies
1997    Kerry Papendick, Kathy Fogarty
1999    Janice Mitchell
2000    Kristin Biskeborn, Ruth Seyfer
2001    Lori Grewe
2002    Janie Albers
2003    Rene Brand
2005    Kendra Kattlemann
2006    Joanne Shearer
2007    Dawn Conrad
2008    Mary Beth Russell
2010    Delaine Rasmussen
2011    Tanja Cutting
2012    Teresa Beach
2013    Linda Fellows
2014    Marni Whalen
2015    Helen Nichols 
2016    April Sorenson

Emerging Dietetic Leader

1997    Gail Johannsen
2002    Ellen Grimlie
2009    Jill Akland
2012    Janice Brandenburger
2016    Lisa Stark

Outstanding Dietetic Technician

2007    Bev Vogt

Outstanding Educator Award   

2001    Sister Thecla Holzbauer


Back to About Index page

Upcoming Events

Click Here

 Fall Meeting:
September 19-21-2018 
Sioux Falls Convention Center

Awards Nomination Rules and Form (pdf)

Featured Member


Thank you to all our sponsors!

Sponsorship Information